Travel & Tourism Panel

Panelist Bios:

Scott Peacock

Scott currently serves as Media Relations Manager for Experience Columbus. As media relations manager, Scott is responsible for planning, implementing, and monitoring aspects of local, leisure travel, meeting/convention and social media relations programs for Experience Columbus to generate positive exposure for the work and value of the organization and for the Greater Columbus area as a destination for travel, conventions and meetings. Before joining Experience Columbus, Scott was an account executive at central Ohio based advertising and marketing firm Emerging Marketing. His background in Columbus includes more that than four years of communications/marketing work for several Central Ohio advertising and public relations firms. Scott is a graduate of the University of Northern Iowa, with a bachelor’s degree in public relations and minors in marketing and tourism. Scott completed three years of service on the executive board for the Columbus Chapter of the American Marketing Association, serving as a program director, VP of Programming and VP of Membership and has been a member of Public Relations Society of American since 2005, including presenting at several PRSSA functions.

Aimée Zerla

Aimée currently serves as the Public Relations Specialist and Project Manager of Publications for the State of Ohio’s Tourism Division. She promotes and celebrates Ohio’s unique travel opportunities and markets the state’s outstanding quality of life through multi-faceted public relations programs. With more than 15 years as a public relations practioner, Aimée served as the Promotions Manager for The American Ceramic Society prior to joining the Division. A graduate of Otterbein College with a B.A. in Communications and Public Relations, Aimée, currently resides in Westerville, Ohio, with her family. She is a member of the Public Relations Society of America (PRSA), the PRSA Travel & Tourism Section, and serves as a professional advisor to the Otterbein College Chapter of the Public Relations Student Society of America. She also is a member of the Ohio Travel Association and the Otterbein College Alumni Association.

Sam Fryberger

Samantha Fryberger has been promoting nonprofit organizations, special events and major attractions for 15 years. She has worked in marketing for several Northeast Ohio museums, an advertising and public relations agency and Friends of the National Zoo in Washington, DC. For nearly four years, she has served as Director of Communications for Positively Cleveland, the convention and visitors bureau promoting business and leisure tourism to Northeast Ohio. There, she is involved with company messaging, public relations efforts, advertising copy, e-communications, social media and publications.  Positively Cleveland’s marketing department has earned multiple awards for their work in recent years.

Amy Weirick

Amy Weirick is president of Weirick Communications, Inc., a full-service strategic marketing and public relations firm that develops and implements effective marketing campaigns for tourism, hospitality, restaurant and event clients. She has generated publicity on behalf of clients in outlets such as USA Today, The Wall Street Journal, The NBC Today Show, The Chicago Tribune, The Indianapolis Star, National Geographic Traveler, Midwest Living Magazine, Home & Away and others. Amy has also trained more than 3,000 executives in media relations tactics. Prior to starting Weirick Communications, Inc., Amy served as public relations manager for the Ohio Division of Travel and Tourism; as media relations director for Nancy Flynn Public Relations; and as television news producer and broadcast reporter in radio and television newsrooms in Illinois, Pennsylvania and Ohio.In 1991, Amy was awarded television’s prestigious Emmy Award for Best Newscast. The Society of American Travel Writers (SATW) recently presented Amy with its coveted Blake Whiddon Award, presented for her decades of excellence in travel public relations. This honor is particularly significant because it is awarded by travel journalists. A frequently published author, Amy is a member of the Society of Professional Journalists, the Society of American Travel Writers and the Midwest Travel Writers Association.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: